Activity Update!

Well good day to you readers, Old Man Wolfe checking in here. I value my audience and regard you all as being at least somewhat interested in the direction this blog will be moving in some time in the future so this is another one of those posts to keep you all up to date so that new releases don’t come as a complete surprise or go by unchecked because you weren’t expecting anything.

Ok so first things first, you’ve no doubt noticed my new baby of creative writing, the TDWC short story series. TDWC is short for Tea Drinking Wise-Cracker, originally written as a series of Facebook notes as means of practising my written technique, the notes were read by a number of friends and family members who wanted to see that I flesh the series out and make it into something I commit a bit more effort to. TDWC started off as a playful self-insertion comedy action series and so little did I expect of it that the main character was not even given a name, beyond being referred to by my nicknames on occasion. Whilst you can argue TDWC is still very much an eight year’s old fantasy mixed together with some curse words, the series has been developed to include a cast of different characters with different backgrounds, goals and futures ahead of them as little by little an overruling story arc develops to link the separate adventures together. I plan to write a total of 13 episodes for this series, 12 regular ones and a thirteenth extended episode that will tie up the series in an epic climax in order to resolve loose ends from earlier episodes.

Granted, as far as literature goes, you might say this is a poor quality British knock-off of Devil May Cry littered with a few out of place references and one-liners but if you say so now, you’re too late because I’ve already come out with it. TDWC is a playful irony on the conventions and characteristics of our favourite heroes and anti-heroes and as such the protagonists can be traced to a number of influences (Lee Patience for example clearly shows a mixture of traits taken from Sherlock in the modernised BBC adaptation, Dante of Devil May Cry and some of that rough-edged bitterness you’d expect of Wolverine or Ragna). TDWC isn’t my attempt to leave a big mark on the writing scene, it’s a self-indulgent jolly bit of creative tomfoolery that I’m sharing with my friends but should it get noticed, I may make it into something more sophisticated in say, a second series. Let us wait and see shall we?

I have more to say on the subject of TDWC but let’s move on for now to the main blog, the regular rants you’ve all come to love and hate in equal measure, judging by the comments section. I will admit, you’re not getting much of it and when you do, it’s me getting up on a high horse about something topical whilst tearing my own rulebook apart and holding up the burning flag of anarchy. Ironically, I am not an anarchist and believe the notion of a government to be a fine one but we as a species have this uncanny ability to elect profoundly incompetent cretins to positions of power best given to those who have an idea how to use it properly. The blame for that lies with all of us, voters or not. However, in regards to my regular rants, I’ll try to come up with more ideas for what to rant about and work those in alongside the short stories but believe it or not, TDWC episodes can take a week to write. I am of course open to requests or suggestions about rant topics but I’ve yet to get much audience interaction from you lot, as if you’re scared to say anything. I don’t bite, I just bark at people looking to stir up trouble with their ‘Oh no, that’s offensive’ brigades on a blog that’s not shy to admit it’s written by a man that has such a tight relationship with controversy, we’re looking at buying a flat together. I shouldn’t have to explain this to you folks, you don’t come here for pick-me-up fairy tales do you? Sorry if you do, you’re so hopelessly lost if that’s your reason for being here and you should scamper off to a field of daffodils or the ball pit perhaps.

The lack of activity is partially a struggle for new ideas getting nowhere but also a hectic lifestyle with college work and a hopeless quest to find work in Shrewsbury, the town devoted to ruining itself. I would move and get a flat outside of Shrewsbury but that’s looking impractical to pull off when you have £7 left to your name, which a sneaky little cunt under the same roof as me slips his hand in my wallet when my back is turned. If you’re reading, you owe me at least £30 in notes and god knows how much change… I can say that because my brothers never read any of my work, dismissing it as foul-spirited trash and shitty stories. So supportive. College is ending soon, by which I mean before the month is out, so assuming I can find a job that’s stable and can give something towards my expenses here, I might be able to stay online longer and get something done with this blog. Sad really, I want to be a great writer but this blog’s success fluctuates and deflates like a nervous balloon. I’ll get there, don’t play your violins just yet, but I’d appreciate your help readers.

Ok, this is where you guys come in – I want feedback. I want to know if I’m going in the right direction with my work and what people want from me because I throw you guys a bone and it goes over your heads and into the flowerbed unnoticed… you are not dogs incidentally, don’t take offence at the metaphor especially you tetchy types that seem to read this blog to get yourself in a bad mood. Honestly, you aren’t going to force me to back down because in reality, this entire blog is just a well-meaning joke and an overplayed expression of an opinion I hold. I hope that’s clear now; I do not actually plan on having the government lined up and shot and having the over-zealous feminists shipped off to the land of Nopenis. I’m going to ask that you all comment on this blog or contact me at the specially created e-mail address below or my personal e-mail if you know me on a first-name basis because if not, it’ll just get put in junk and I never read my junk… wait…

oldmanwolfe@hotmail.com

I’m thinking of doing a special questions and answers post about TDWC, including some trivia you may or may not already know about the series and the characters. Please, don’t be shy to get in touch, my view stats and audience responses provide me with a sense of validity in my work. I’m sad…

Stay classy San Diego, and you know, those other places where people actually do read my work…

Leave a Reply

